Upcoming Exhibitions / Prospect.4: The Lotus in Spite of the Swamp

On view November 18, 2017 - February 25, 2018


The Nasher Museum is pleased to celebrate Prospect.4: The Lotus in Spite of the Swamp (P.4), the art exhibition that takes place every three years throughout the city of New Orleans, Louisiana. The artistic director of Prospect.4 is Trevor Schoonmaker, who is Chief Curator and Patsy R. and Raymond D. Nasher Curator of Contemporary Art at the Nasher Museum. Prospect.4 will open to the public on Saturday, November 18, 2017, and run through February 25, 2018, aligning with the city of New Orleans’s tricentennial celebration. Prospect.4 will host VIP preview days on Thursday, November 16,  and Friday, November 17,  with the opening gala scheduled for Friday evening, November 17. Nasher friends, please join us in New Orleans!

Listen to a talk by Trevor Schoonmaker about Prospect.4: The Lotus in Spite of the Swamp. This free Curators Perspective Lecture was produced in a collaboration between Independent Curators International and the Vera List Center for Art and Politics at The New School, New York, on May 24, 2017.


Download PDF to see venues and sites, opening weekend festivities and Artistic Director Trevor Schoonmaker’s statement.

ABOVE: P.4 Artistic Director Trevor Schoonmaker, who is Chief Curator and Patsy R. and Raymond D. Nasher Curator of Contemporary Art at the Nasher Museum (third from left) strikes a pose after a press event in New York City with (from left) P.4 artists Maria Berrio, Derrick Adams, Hank Willis Thomas, Rina Banerjee, and (far right) Omar Lopez-Chahoud, a member of Trevor’s P.4 advisory council and also director of the Untitled Art Fair. Photo by J Caldwell.


The list of 73 artists whose works are part of Prospect.4: The Lotus in Spite of the Swamp:

Larry Achiampong

Derrick Adams

Abbas Akhavan

John Akomfrah

Njideka Akunyili Crosby

Michael Armitage

Louis Armstrong

Kader Attia

Radcliffe Bailey

Rina Banerjee

Rebecca Belmore

Maria Berrio

Sonia Boyce

Katherine Bradford

Margarita Cabrera

María Magdalena Campos-Pons

Andrea Chung

Edgar Cleijne & Ellen Gallagher

Donna Conlon & Jonathan Harker

Minerva Cuevas

Wilson Díaz

Mark Dion

Alexis Esquivel

Genevieve Gaignard

Gauri Gill & Rajesh Vangad

Tony Gleaton

Jon-Sesrie Goff

Wayne Gonzales

Barkley L. Hendricks

Satch Hoyt

Evan Ifekoya

Alfredo Jaar

Rashid Johnson

Kahlil Joseph

Patricia Kaersenhout

Brad Kahlhamer

Kiluanji Kia Henda

Taiyo Kimura

The Kitchen Sisters: Davia Nelson & Nikki Silva

with Otabenga Jones & Associates

Runo Lagomarsino

Pedro Lasch

Maider López

Jillian Mayer

Darryl Montana

Dave Muller

Lavar Munroe

Paulo Nazareth

Rivane Neuenschwander

Jennifer Odem

Odili Donald Odita

Yoko Ono

Horace Ové

Zak Ové

Dawit L. Petros

Quintron and Miss Pussycat

Dario Robleto

Tita Salina

Beatriz Santiago Muñoz

Zina Saro-Wiwa

John T. Scott

Zineb Sedira

Xaviera Simmons

Penny Siopis

Cauleen Smith

Hank Willis Thomas

Hong-An Truong

Naama Tsabar

Michel Varisco

Monique Verdin

Kara Walker

James Webb

Jeff Whetstone

Peter Williams